Monday - Friday
8:30am - 4:00pm

(201) 664-1849

Form of Government

The Borough of Old Tappan operates under the Borough form of government which is governed by a Mayor and six Borough Council members.

The Mayor is elected to a 4-year term; the Council members are elected to 3-year terms. The Mayor votes only in the event of a tie. This seven-member governing body is empowered to enact local ordinances, to levy municipal taxes and conduct the affairs of our community. In almost all cases, it can review and approve the actions of other Borough of Old Tappan boards, committees and agencies. The Mayor and Borough Council conducts all of it business during monthly meetings open to the public. All Legislative powers of the Borough are exercised by the Mayor and Council. These powers can take the form of a resolution, ordinance or proclamation.  

MAYOR:   John M. Kramer 2019-2023
COUNCIL:      Ron Binaghi, Jr.   2020-2023
    William Boyce 2023-2026
    Guy Carnazza 2021-2024
    Thomas Gallagher 2020-2023
    Matthew Nalbandian 2019-2022
    Jin Yhu 2021-2024